RWBY Play-by-Play 2: Red and White Trailers

Welcome

This is my 2nd installment in the newly titled RWBY Play by Play Reaction Diary. I seem to have ruffled some feathers with my last analysis by nailing one too many details on my first go. I hope this doesn’t become a pattern. The feather ruffling, that is, not the detail nailing. More than a few people are convinced that I’m faking it. Sadly, there’s nothing I can do about that.

The trailers were brought to by attention by several people, so that will be the subject of today’s reaction, review, and analysis. As always, if you have any feedback, positive, negative, or neutral, please leave it below.

Also as always no spoilers. No spoilers is a hard rule to enforce while still discussing the material, so I leave it to your own judgement and intelligence as to what’s a spoiler and what’s not. I know the risks of what I’m doing and I’m totally willing to accept them but still, please be careful.

I’m gonna try something new this time around and create a spoiler thread in the comments that I will minimize so you lot can talk about whatever and not worry about me seeing it.


Recap

Feel free to skip this section. This is just a place for any last minute thoughts about yesterdays entry.

So, we met our huntress (I have to stop calling them magical girls, no matter how great the temptation) Ruby Rose

She is apparently super strong and super fast and wields a unfolding mechanical gun-scythe twice her size

No fire powers as of yet, but I’m still holding out hope that she burns some poor bastard to cinders.

We also met our ballbuster Glynda Goodwitch

(still yummy), her companion Professor Ozpin

and if not the big bad, then at least someone with some actual fire power (har har) The Lady in Red

There was the clockwork orange guy, too, but I got a funny feeling he’s gonna be a minor character in all this.

And that really is it. They knocked over a shop for no particular reason, then skedaddled in an airship. Petty armed larceny and fucking airships don’t exactly go together, so it’s anyone’s guess what that was all about. If you have enough money and resources to run an airship, why are you robbing gas stations? It just doesn’t add up.

Oh, and Ruby has Silver Eyes. Which is important. Because it is.


RWBY Red Trailer

Does anyone else notice that this show seems to care about color more than usual? All the trailers are color names. Ruby is a color, technically. So it Rose, technically. Both of those are other names for red, and she does wear all red and she does have (fingers crossed) fire powers. But then again. so is eggplant, technically, I guess, so maybe I’m reading too much into this. Ozpin isn’t exactly a damn color and he’s the narrator!

So the first thing I notice is the music and how good it is. It very simple, but very effective. Just some sort of guitar playing single notes, a thumping drum, and some girl ooohing; but it’s so beautiful for it.

Well, that’s just a lovely shot, isn’t it?

Another One

Seeing as there’s not a lot actually happening, I’m just gonna try to focus on the music. It’s lovely. The screenshots are lovely, too, but there’s not exactly a lot to analyse. Ruby is red. End analysis.

Wait, nevermind. The music just got a lot less important.

Is that a gravestone?

I had to zoom in a bit to read it but it says Summer Rose. Thus Kindly I Scatter. Summer Rose. Rose implying that it’s a family member. You know who springs to mind when I hear the name Summer?

This girl

The older sister. I don’t know what this means. Is the older sister a ghost or something? Is she dead? Is this in the future? I can’t recall if we got to hear her name in the first episode. I’ll have to check.

Nope. Well well, this just got interesting.

Black the beast, eh

So these must be the Big Bad Wolf to get Little Red Riding Hood. Is there gonna be a woodsman? Maybe the professor? Then again, this little cutie is packing some serious heat so maybe this’ll turn out okay.

Jesus, duck or something! Burn ’em!

Oh, that counts I guess.

Teleportation. How interesting. I much as it pains me, I’m gonna have to let go of the idea of fire magic. Such a shame.

Ohhh, pretty!

…She is kicking their asses…

Hi there!

Dawwwww…

It’s all so pretty! I can’t stop taking screenshots!

Also, wow that’s brutal for a little girl. Just…brutal.

Oh, god, no…

Christ…

What’s the significance of this, I wonder?

High impact rounds? Armor piercing? Ammo of badassness +1?

Oh my god

Ammo of badassness +1 it is. O_O

This made me laugh. This made me laugh so hard

Noting but spent casings and body parts. This girl is crazy strong.

Remember this guy?

Fuck that guy

Strike a pose, sweetie. You earned it.

Holy crap. There are just…no words.

There are also no fire powers, but she doesn’t need them!

Did anyone else hear the Unreal Tournament announcer in their head? Double kill! Triple kill!

We didn’t learn a whole lot, other than someone is dead, possibly her sister, our girl is so strong it’s silly, and she’s not magical so much as awesome.

She has teleportation powers (or maybe just a flash step) and uses the recoil of her weapon to dart around and add impact to her strikes.

Still, what a spectacle.


White Trailer

It opens with an quote.

Their own sorrow, eh? To me it just sounds like a platitude, but I’ll try to keep it in mind.

There’s a voice, deeply distorted. I couldn’t really make it out, but the captions were helpful here. “Ladies and Gentlemen. Please welcome: Weiss Schnee.”

Weiss Schnee, I presume?

Man, talk about “white chick.”

Face shot

White hair, white dress, white skin, and her name means White Snow in German. (Yes, I happen to know German. Am I a faker now?) Remember what I said earlier about colors? This is a little too on the head to be a coincidence.

She is very beautiful. Ruby was more of a cutie, Summer (working name) was a hottie, but Weiss is beautiful. I note her heavyish eye makeup and what looks like a nasty scar. I wonder what the story behind that is.

Light blue eyes. Lovely. Completely lovely. I don’t know what it is, but the scar really works for her, instead of against her. Just that little bit of asymmetry.

I wonder what she’s like. Valley girl? No, she’s too pretty for that. The off-center ponytail implies..something. Maybe she has a fun side? Or a rebellious side? It’s hard to say.

Anyway, we should move on. Why are we welcoming her? Where are we welcoming her too? Let’s find out.

Some sort of performance

I don’t see any instruments, so… singing?

Singing

Mirror?

Um, I beg your pardon?

Okay, so I’m pretty sure this isn’t actually happening in the performance because there was that mirror transition.

Good to know the girl has moves

And petticoats. And a sword.

That’s an interesting pose

We get a good look at her weapon here. It’s almost like a rapier, except it lacks the fancy hand-guard. That’s not to say it’s not as fancy and elegant as the girl herself, but it’s not exactly a rapier.

Gun to my head, I’d have to say it looks like that fencing sword. Epee, I think they’re called. Except instead of a little ball on the end, it sharpened to a deadly point.

What’s that assembly in the grip? It has reds and blues, but I can’t pin down what it is. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Damn, she is fast

Ruh roh.

Something tells me this isn’t gonna be as easy as Ruby’s fight.

Ow.

But this is interesting…I note a symbol on her back. I wonder if that means something. Of course, it’s a snowflake. Obviously it was gonna be a snowflake. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it.

Guys, I found the symbol again

So is it like a transmutation circle from FMA? She has it drawn on her back, so she can draw it on the ground or something? That’d be neat.

Yeah, she’s fast and all but she’s not doing any damage.

Ow again.

This is is not going well for her, is it? What’s with the white flash, I wonder? Some sort of magical barrier?

I’m not the only one who thinks she’s losing

Damn, that girl has some pipes

Yeah! Get up! Kick it’s ass!

Wait what? This is where she got the scar?

So that implies that this is actually really happening. The mirror transition made me think it was an allegory for something, or that it was just a cool fight to showcase the hero’s abilities. But it really actually happened.

So that begs the question: Why? Why is she fighting this thing? Where? When?

…What?

Oh yeah

I get the feeling she’s about to limit break. Anyone remember FF7?

Oh, it turns!

The mechanism turns and rattles like a revolver chamber.

It stopped on red, and the blade turned red.

So is this how she enchants her blade or something? Is this her limit break? Why doesn’t she do this all the time?

ARRG, so many questions!

Oh yeah, she means business now.

Ice powers.

I guess that makes sense. White Snow for a name. White everything else.

She jumped on his sword, hah!

Why is she sad here? She’s finally winning.

Well, this looks familiar

Death stroke!

And such a pretty screenshot, too!

It’s disintigrating from within.

I have no idea what that means. Maybe she killed whatever was in the armor?

And a curtsy to wrap it up

This trailer was deeply frustrating. So many questions.

Basically, the whole who, what, when, where, why, and how of the armor. I’m gonna guess it was enchanted armor that she fought as some sort of test or something, but I can literally base that on nothing.

What’s the deal with her epee? What is the significance of the colors and the blade enchantment?

Her powers seem to include the ability to impart force on an object with snowflake symbols, and ice magic.

Why was she sad when the fight turned in her favor? Does she have a death wish? Maybe this is where that silly quote comes in, and she just has “her own sorrow.”

So. Many. Questions.


Wrap-Up and Review

This post has just hit the 12,000 character mark, which was the same as my first one, so I’m gonna wrap it up here and do the other two trailers tomorrow. Maybe 12,000 characters will be a good goal to shoot for, or maybe it’s gonna be way way too little. I’m still figuring out this format.

I think color is important. So far the two major characters have had names are that basically colors, with a very strong color motif in their design that matches their name, and the trailers are named after colors. That’s a lot pointing in the direction.

I find these trailers were very high in spectacle and light on information. However, it is a trailer and the entire point of a trailer is be to awesome and intriguing. The Red trailer was awesome, and the White trailer was intriguing, so we have that on lockdown.

The fighting animation is really striking. It’s so fluid, yet it also has such momentum. It stands in stark contrast to the strange, uncanny animation of the first episode.

We never did get to learn was Weiss is like. I suppose that will have to wait until she appears in the show proper.

The last thing I was to say is that more and more accusations of being a faker are piling up on the first entry. If people really feel that strongly, I don’t know what to do.

Thanks.


Play of the Game

Just, everything after Ruby loaded the Ammo of Badassness. Just… everything.

Leave a Reply

